Reading Through Leviticus: The Offerings

I am reading through the Old and New Testaments, and currently I am in Leviticus.  I don't know that I have ever heard a sermon preached out of Leviticus, and when I ask people about reading it, they either just give me a long uncomfortable stare, or say they have skimmed over it. I have to admit, I haven't really paid attention to it much. However, I am gaining some good understanding of the Old Covenant, and its connection with the New. There were four offerings that were prescribed by God to begin the Tabernacle service of Israel.
  1. The sin offering - Leviticus 4, & 6:17-23
  2. The whole burnt offering - Leviticus 1 & 6:1-6
  3. The grain offering - Leviticus 2 & 6:7-16
  4. The trespass and restitution offerings - Leviticus 5 & 7:1-10
  5. The peace offering - Leviticus 3 & 6:11-38
Symbolically, I see that each offering had significance and is relevant to our daily walk as Christians. I think the seriousness of these offerings is important as well. Each offering symbolizes the following:

  1. The sin offering speaks to our reconciliation with God - Romans 5:10
  2. The whole burnt offering symbolizes a life wholly given to God - Romans 12
  3. The grain offering symbolizes the works of our hands and how they are to be given to God - John 14:12
  4. The trespass and restitution offerings illustrates that we are all prone to sin and must seek peace with God everyday for all of them, even the accidental ones. Confession and repentance are something that should be a daily practice of the Christian - Romans 10:9, 1 John 1:9, 2 Timothy 2:14-26
  5. The peace offering is one of communion with God. We are to fellowship with him in a pure and worthy manner (Confess your sins and repent) - John 6:53-58 & 1 Corinthians 11:27-34 
We must be a living sacrifice - Romans 12:1-2


Popular posts from this blog

Coarse Jesting - Thoughts on Crude Joking and Where to Draw the Line

Total Depravity: What is it? What is it not?

Faith Comes By Hearing